What’s so fun about people watching?

October 12, 2010 § Leave a comment

What is it about people that has made “people watching” a normal activity? It doesn’t matter who the people are… Pretty people, ugly people, little people, people from New Jersey, people who are bigamists — we have shows to watch all of these people with the comfort of never having to interact with them.

And going in public is no different. One of my favorite things to do is go sit outside at Southpoint and watch people go by. And today at the Cleveland County Fair, I had some of the best people watching of my life.

But why? What is it about seeing someone who is “different” from me in whatever way I am focused on that makes me want to take secret pictures with my phone to send my friends? (And trust me, www.peopleoftheclevelandcountyfair.com would be an instant classic that could rival People of Wal-Mart.)

Even though I enjoy it as much as most people, I am still not sure why we have this voyeuristic tendancy with people we don’t interact with.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s so fun about people watching? at It's Taftastic!.

meta

