My favorite book ever

March 5, 2010 § 1 Comment

Last night, I went with my step-father to pick up a TV at Target. While we were waiting for the guy to come with the flatbed cart so we could roll it out to the car, I looked around at one of end displays of random clearance items. Lo and behold, right before my eyes, was a DISCOUNTED copy of my favorite book ever (all apologies to Lord of the Rings, it’s a close second):

Blue Like Jazz, by Donald Miller. I picked it up, flipped it over, and saw that it was only $3.16. $3.16!!!!! Of course I had to buy it for the 3rd or 4th time, since I didn’t have a copy at home.

If it’s such a good book (my all-time favorite, even) why didn’t I have a copy? Because I’ve given them all away. Every copy I’ve ever owned, I’ve given  to someone else so they could read it, because I want it to be their favorite too (or I at least want them to like it.)

The irony is, someone else thought that about this book too — and when I say this book, I mean this EXACT book, the copy that I bought.  (That also explains why it was only $3.16 at Target).

When I opened the book this morning, I found this on the title page:

Sept 22, 2009 — You are twenty!

Kacie –

I hope that you read this book with an open heart, and I hope that it pushes you to ask questions you haven’t yet. It’s one of my favorites! I hope it becomes yours, too.

(Heart)

Courtney

How much do you have to dislike a gift (or possibly the giver of the gift) to take a book back to Target when it’s been personalized? Anyways, Kacie’s loss is my gain.

And you should check the book out. Maybe you’ll like it more than Kacie did.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to My favorite book ever

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My favorite book ever at It's Taftastic!.

meta

