Under the covers

January 13, 2010 § 1 Comment

One of my favorite things in music is cover songs. I love to hear how an artist/band interprets another artist or band’s songs, and puts their own twists on it.

Here is a list of some of my favorite cover songs of all time, with covering artist (along with the original artist.)

1. With A Little Help from My Friends – Joe Cocker (The Beatles) — Sure, I probably only like this because of The Wonder Years, but that’s a good enough reason for me.

2. All Along the Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix (Bob Dylan) – Hendrix’s version is probably the more well known, and is a classic rock staple, but Dylan’s lyrics tells the story like only he can.

3. All Along the Watchtower – Dave Matthews Band (Bob Dylan) – DMB makes the song completely their own, while still being true to Dylan.

4. Hey Hey What Can I Do – Hootie and the Blowfish (Led Zeppelin) – I thought this was the best song off of the Zeppelin tribute album Encomium that came out while I was in high school.

5. Bold As Love – John Mayer  (Jimi Hendrix) – There aren’t a lot of people who can pull off Hendrix’s riffs, but Mayer comes pretty damn close.

6. Little Wing – Stevie Ray Vaughan (Jimi Hendrix) – SRV could pull off Hendrix’s riffs. These two are in an elite class.

7. All Night Long – Jason Mraz (Lionel Ritchie) – Saw Mraz do this one live last summer, and I couldn’t believe he pulled it off. Great song from my childhood was definitely done justice.

8. The Devil Went Down to Georgia – Blues Traveler (Charlie Daniels Band) – Charlie Daniels can tear up a fiddle like no one else, but John Popper matches him note for note on a harmonica. Simply amazing.

9. In God’s Country – Caedmon’s Call (U2) – A Christian folk band trying to pull off a U2 song is pretty ballsy, but it works out really well.

10. Fight the Power – Barenaked Ladies (Public Enemy) – Too ridiculous not to be awesome.

I hope you enjoy, and I hope you share any of your favorites with me.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Under the covers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Under the covers at It's Taftastic!.

meta

