2009 – A literary adventure

January 1, 2010 § 1 Comment

At the beginning of the year, I knew I’d be going to Law School, and I felt like I needed to start reading more in preparation. The result: I read 17 books this year that weren’t required for class.

Seventeen books in a year is not a lot. I know some people who average 2 a week, 52 weeks a year. That’s not me. My time that I could/should be reading (pure recreation time) goes to sports, Xbox, TV… who knows what else.

But for me, 17 books in a year is the most I’ve ever read voluntarily. (High school English class doesn’t count, no matter how much I loved Walden.) And I really, really enjoyed it.

Anyway, here’s my 2009 book list — there’s nothing on the list I didn’t like, and nothing that was a chore to finish, and I’d recommend just about everything on the list (except Law School Confidential, unless you’re planning on law school in the near future.)

  1. The Spy Who Came In From The Cold, by John Le Carre
  2. The Nine, by Jeffrey Toobin
  3. Them, by Nathan McCall
  4. 1776, by David McCollough
  5. The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch
  6. The Firm, by John Grisham
  7. The Bourne Identity, by Robert Ludlum
  8. Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs, by Chuck Klosterman
  9. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson
  10. The Girl Who Played With Fire, by Stieg Larsson
  11. Law School Confidential
  12. Free, by Chris Anderson
  13. The Beckham Experiment, by Grant Wahl
  14. Outliers, by Malcolm Gladwell
  15. Churched, by Matthew Paul Turner
  16. The Lost Symbol, by Dan Brown
  17. Drops Like Stars, by Rob Bell

If you have questions, or want a favorite on the list, let me know, I’d love to get you going on some of these so we could have something new to talk about.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to 2009 – A literary adventure

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2009 – A literary adventure at It's Taftastic!.

meta

