Man, I love baseball

June 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

This week, I went to a Durham Bulls game with my buddy Frank. It was a perfect night: we had great seats (2nd row behind the home dugout on the first base line), it wasn’t stiflingly hot, and the weather cooperated and stayed dry.

While I was waiting on Frank at the front gate, I was immediately reminded of some of the things I love about going to baseball games: little kids excitedly walking up to the gates with their parents, the smells of all the different foods, and simply being outside in the fresh air (as fresh as air can get in downtown Durham.)

The speed (or lack thereof) of a baseball game is my absolute favorite part. Frank and I were able to sit back and catch up on everything that’s been going on with us — how are kids are doing, who we’re following on Twitter, what’s going on in various TV shows, how our jobs are going — and we never missed anything in terms of the game. The slow pace of baseball (2 seconds of action followed by a 20 second lull) allows you to sit back and enjoy the nuances of the game, as well as offering a chance to just sit back and relax.

I also love the consistency you get from baseball game to baseball game, regardless of where you’re watching it. My corn dog was greasy. My beer was just a little bit stale. The peanuts taste better than they would if I were eating them anywhere else. Players chuckled when someone heckled them with something creative (which doesn’t happen often.)

All in all, a great time. I can’t wait until Crete is just a little bit older to fully appreciate a day at the park.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Man, I love baseball at It's Taftastic!.

meta

