Not myself lately

June 4, 2009 § 2 Comments

I’m totally overwhelmed at work. For some people, that’s not a big deal — you have a job that is overwhelming all the time. For me though, it’s a pretty big shift. For the majority of the last 4 years, my job has maintained the proper amount of whelm.

As a result of the last week or so, I’m really not myself. I dread going in to work. I dread checking my Blackberry first thing in the morning, knowing how many pressing emails have probably come in overnight, all demanding my attention as my “top priority.”

Worst of all, I’ve become mean. All too easily, I’ve run headlong into my favorite overwhelming circumstance defense mechanism, office sarcasm. On more than one occassion, I’ve been unnecessarily short with my wife. And, on more than one occassion, I’ve used the word hate in reference to a co-worker.

I’m not that guy. I don’t hate people. This is not life or death. It’s not that big of a deal. Certainly not a big enough deal for me to dislike the person I’ve been for the last few days.

So, let this be my public apology. Even though this person will never know, I feel the need to get this off my chest. It’s been gnawing at me for a while, and I’m sorry mystery co-worker.

§ 2 Responses to Not myself lately

  • Slaughter says:

    The Mo will do that to a guy, trust me, I’ve been there. The fires that you fight will probably never addressed, because the person that is assigned to put out your fire also has 50 other top priority fires to put out…you would think they would hire enough people to fix the problems, but when the company is struggling to make money then the fires just rage on.

    You should just work full time for the Canes, that would be a much cooler full time job!

  • Mystery co-worker says:

    You are talking about me, aren’t you?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not myself lately at It's Taftastic!.

meta

