My new favorite song

May 27, 2009 § 2 Comments

When I get exposed to new music, I tend to obsess over it for a while. I went into a Jason Mraz phase earlier this year, and I have gone through a John Mayer phase just about every time he comes out with a new album.

I know I’ve mentioned them before, but I still can’t get over this song by my latest musical obsession, the Avett Brothers.

Emily is totally sick of hearing this song, because I’m playing it so much. (That’s the way it normally goes when I’m in my phases.) I’m not sure what it is about this song, or the Avett Brothers in general, that is so appealing. The lyrics are incredible, and they harmonize really well — Em says it’s because they’re family, and that family members (who can sing) can always harmonize and sing well together. (Plus, most of the time, these guys look like Civil War Re-enactment Guys, which is funny.)

Anyways, here’s my attempt to make my musical obsession your musical obsession. Do you have any current musical obsessions I should check out?

§ 2 Responses to My new favorite song

  • The Mitts says:

    Glad you’ve joined the Avett Brothers Addicts… I run the weekly meeting.

  • Slaughter says:

    I have to admit, when they opened for DMB I had really never listened to them before. I’m not the biggest bluegrass fan to begin with, they were just ok for me at the show…but I have to say I do like this version of this song much better. I believe the live version was much more up tempo, which doesn’t do it any justice.

    As for the new things I’m listening to currently, Method Man & Redman – Blackout! 2, Eminem – Relapse and Green Day – 21st Century Breakdown…oh yeah, and streaming Big Whiskey on Pandora 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My new favorite song at It's Taftastic!.

meta

