I love Sesame Street

May 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

Apparently, one of the coolest things about parenthood is seeing your child develop an interest in something that you are intersted in. I’m getting my first taste of this experience now as Crete has taken an interest in Sesame Street.

The last two weeks have brought back a flood of my own childhood memories, as I’ve been singing along with Crete to “C is for Cookie” (or “C Cookie” as he calls it), Ernie’s Rubber Ducky song, and the Sesame Street theme song. I’ve even tolerated the full assimilation of Elmo into our lives, as we have to pump Elmo’s Song about 15 times a day. (I hate it honestly, but when your 19 month old looks at you with the world’s sweetest eyes and says in a sweet voice “Elmo Song? More?” you can’t really say no.)

So, we recorded a few episodes of Sesame Street on the DVR, so we could have some to watch whenever we wanted. Yesterday, we played the first one, and saw this:

What the heck is that? That’s not Sesame Street! I want the cheesy music and little kids playing in the park. I want to get a little sad every time I see Big Bird walking in NYC and the World Trade Center is behind him in the background…bring my childhood memories back!!

You didn’t make it better, you just changed it. And Jim Henson is rolling over in his grave.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love Sesame Street at It's Taftastic!.

meta

