I’m kind of a big deal (in my head)

May 5, 2009 § 2 Comments

burgandy

I'm a man who discovered the wheel and built the Eiffel Tower out of metal and brawn. That's what kind of man I am.

I love the internet. I mean, I LOVE the internet. No single thing has brought me more joy, or enhanced my life more than the web. Fantasy sports are more awesome, video games are more awesome, social networking is awesome… the amount ofenrichment the internet has brought my life is almost endless.

But one of the big side effects of the web is the incredible amount of self-importance it gives me (and other people). Here are just a few examples of how the web has over-inflated my opinion of myself:

  • I check my WordPress blog stats EVERY DAY, and brag to my wife when I hit a new high in daily users.
  • Thanks to Twitter, I seem to think that people who I have only met on a web forum need to know more about my hour-by-hour activities than my wife does. And when I tell my wife about this stuff, she doesn’t even care that the Mexican restaurant I chose on Cinco de Mayo was empty. (And honestly, why should she?)
  • Also thanks to Twitter, I have to do at least a once a day check on @lee_taft, to see how many times people are talking to or about me.
  • Thanks to Facebook, I feel the need to compare my kid’s cuteness to the kids of people I haven’t seen since high school. (And my kid is way cuter, by the way.)
  • I have used Twitter to help people pick me out of a crowd of almost 20,000 people, and somehow felt important when they found me.

I don’t care how ridiculous it is that I think my thoughts on life are so important I need to capture them on a blog, and instantly let people know about it through three different websites. I’m not sure why, but I feel like you, my readers (who may or may not exist) need to know these things about me and my little world. The amount of self-importance that blogging and social networking have given people is borderline ridiculous.

And I love it.

§ 2 Responses to I’m kind of a big deal (in my head)

  • […] you should check out Tweeting Too Hard. I have already gone over my love of Twitter on an earlier blog post, and have admitted to the fact that at times I take myself too seriously and think what I have to […]

  • Tyler says:

    Thank you for not being ashamed about your love for the internet and social media.

    I feel like everyone is embarrassed by it…almost apologetic. Let’s start a movement of people who are proud of their obsession.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m kind of a big deal (in my head) at It's Taftastic!.

meta

