The language explosion

April 23, 2009 § 2 Comments

My son Crete is 18 months old, and I am amazed at how quickly he is picking up new words. I remember how excited we were when he saw a bird out his window and would say “Birrrrr!” Now, he’s putting stuff together like “Kick the ball!”

Over Easter, thanks to some unsupervised time with Aunt Ashley, Crete learned how to say “Holy Crap!”

Over the last couple of days, he’s picked up the following words: medicine, vacuum, more (not just the sign language, but the actual word), Hello Mark (for our neighbor), along with Abby and Ellie.

For some reason, I was really excited about the word he picked up today. When he woke up, I went in to grab him, and he pointed at the pattern on my sweater. I was just messing around, so I said “argyle.” Sure enough, he repeated argyle every time I pointed at my sweater.

§ 2 Responses to The language explosion

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The language explosion at It's Taftastic!.

meta

