Remember me?

April 6, 2009 § 1 Comment

My wife and I were discussing an odd phenomenon that frequently happens to me: People forget me. It’s crazy. People forget meeting me. Or, people who do remember me forget what I look like.

Case one goes like this: I have everyday exposure to someone — I work at the same company with them, I play soccer with them, we go to church together, whatever. We get introduced through normal means, we have conversations, etc. A month or two passes, we cross paths again, and the person pulls the whole “Oh hi, I’m so and so. It’s very nice to meet you. Have you been (working here/playing soccer/going to church here) long?”

The last time this happened was a week ago, when one of the parents on the soccer team that I coach came up to introduce himself to me. I have met the man no fewer than 20 times, been at birthday parties with him, even had lunch WITH HIS FAMILY! And he has no clue who I am.

Case two, where people forget what I look like, always goes like this. I haven’t seen someone in a short amount of time (usually a couple of weeks). When I walk in the room, or they see me at the mall, the conversation goes like this: “Oh hey Lee, how are you? Oh, you decided to grow a beard. It looks good!”

Yes, yes I did decide to grow a beard — FOUR YEARS AGO!!! I look exactly the same as I did the last time you saw me two weeks ago, which is the same way I looked two weeks before that. Thanks for noticing my face.

I really don’t get it. I’m normally a pretty engaging guy, yet I find myself constantly being forgotten. And apparently my face is so average looking, not changing it comes across as an improvement two weeks later.

§ One Response to Remember me?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Remember me? at It's Taftastic!.

meta

